Sarah.

27 Mar

To a beloved member of my family, who is stopping treatment and going home from the hospital today.

 

I wish I could be you,

Floating in the deep.

With not a care in the world;

Nor a care to keep.

 

I wish I could be you,

Holding hands with another sort.

I’m just a simple peasant

To your majesty in this court.

 

I wish I could be you,

Dancing among the stars.

Down here you might be broken, bloodied

But up there you have no scars.

 

I wish I could be you,

To take your pain away.

I’d gladly die for you,

Or if you’d rather, stay.

 

I wish I could be you,

Lying in your cold, white hospital bed.

You have so much left to do

And there’s a pounding in my head.

 

I wish I could be you,

Sent home to be in peace.

You’ve left all those around you

Missing a crucial piece.

 

I wish I could be you,

Moving beyond, ahead, forward.

I’ve always been a step behind,

Just one lonely chord.

 

I wish I could be you,

And save your own life with mine.

Nothing would make me happier

Than to share with you one last glass of wine.

 

I wish I could be you,

Please don’t leave us now.

God must want you by his side;

I know there’s another way, but how…?

 

Regular content to resume tomorrow (or whenever I’m feeling well enough to do that damned photoshoot).

One Response to “Sarah.”

  1. creaturosity March 28, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    so beautiful and so sad in so many ways

Leave a Reply

