Vacation, Part Two: A new addition to our lovely household.

22 Mar

Day two of my mini vacation was supposed to be going to the mall, only here’s the thing. My dad and I had already scouted it out on Sunday, and there wasn’t anything I really wanted there. Le gasp, I know, but I guess this season isn’t agreeing with me? In any case, we decided to do something else. And that something else was to buy me a spinning wheel!

Her name is Emily and she’s a Schacht Ladybug. She’s a combination vacation-and-birthday present (I’m turning 21 in April), and she’s just about the best ever. I’m not very good yet–in fact, I’m bad enough that I had to call Mind’s Eye where I bought her to make sure I’m not the worst spinner in the world (I’m not)–but, as they say, practice makes perfect.

My dad also bought me this gorgeous fiber that will be the very first thing I spin up once I’m trusted with real fiber, rather than the scrap roving I got at Mind’s Eye to practice on. Luckily, though, I do have that roving, and I still have a bunch of fiber from my starter bag that came with my first spinning lesson. But eventually. Eventually, I will get to use this. The colorway is Tea, Toast and Cakes and it reminds me of the Mad Hatter’s tea party, don’t you think?

On the downside, due to trying to learn how to spin on a spinning wheel, I now can’t even use my drop spindle anymore. I’m not sure what happened there, but somehow all of the sudden I’m back to square one with that, too. It’s pretty frustrating, but I guess I’ll just have to deal with it. I’m sure eventually I’ll be a pro with both. And in the mean time, I can always admire the little ladybug on Emily 🙂

This has also really inspired me to one day have a craft room. Right now I’m spinning on our boot box which, let me tell you, is far from ideal. It’s really got me dreaming of a place where I can have all my yarn and fiber out on display, a place where my swift and ball winder can always be out, a place where I can spin with impunity. Alas, I think this is for a day far in the future, but in the mean time, a girl can dream.

2 Responses to “Vacation, Part Two: A new addition to our lovely household.”

  1. rangersarahblog March 23, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    Congrats on your new wheel! Your spinning will definitely improve with time, and you two will have tons of fun together. Plus now you can buy fiber AND yarn.

  2. Tammy March 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Sometimes when I’m learning to play a new song on my guitar, adding a new line of music causes me to “loose” the previous lines I thought I had down. My teacher told me that’s because when you’re a beginner and focusing on something new, it’s hard to juggle the old knowledge and the newly acquired knowledge at the same time. So your mind makes room for it. Maybe that’s what’s happening with you and the drop spindle. Practice and review remedy the situation. Emily is lovely. Spinning is a future dream hobby for me. Looks like you are off to a good start! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

