FO: It’s Not Cheating If It’s This Cute! (3/12)

9 Mar

And now, a real FO post!

I had a lot of fun knitting this guy. For the longest time it was my in-my-purse, on-the-go knitting, but when I got home from the hospital on Tuesday, it jumped out and me and screamed, “Knit me! Pick me!” and so I did.

Once I actually picked it up and worked on it, the whole body and the sleeves took about two days. I had already done all of the yoke during long car rides and doctor’s appointments, so that was taken care of. Also, please pretend I’m smiling in this picture 🙂

I borrowed my neighbor’s tree to take good pictures, because it’s that super awkward time of year where there’s no picturesque snow and no picturesque grass and no picturesque flowers, so you gotta take what you can get. Also, the sun was kind of in my eyes.

I did a little bit of waist shaping even though I hadn’t originally planned on doing any thanks to an article in an old issue of Knitscene about how waist shaping always makes a garment look better, even if it’s oversized (not that mine is) or you’re not going for a super fitted look. I think it worked out really well, and the fit is pretty much perfect.

Even though the yarn is 100% merino, I decided to go for short sleeves so I can wear it in the spring and fall, if not the very middle of summer. Besides, they look super cute and, ahem, cut the knitting time down a whole bunch. But the number one reason I did short sleeves is aesthetics, so the timing was just an added bonus 😛

Also, that’s how much extra yarn I had at the end. Er, well, I have another ball of each, but I was so close to done and I really didn’t want to have to break into the new ones, and so I pushed the hell out of what I had an it worked. Apple logo included for perspective.

Pattern: My Favorite Sweater by Fancy Tiger Crafts
Time Span: 28 January to 8 March
Materials: 3 skeins each of Valley Yarns Amherst in Lake and Powder Pink
Ravelry link: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/annanlove19/my-favorite-sweater-3

3 Responses to “FO: It’s Not Cheating If It’s This Cute! (3/12)”

  1. stitchcrazy March 9, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Very nice. Did you strand the yarn up on the inside so you wouldn’t have to switch colors every stripe and have all those ends to weave in? Where did you find the pattern?

    • handsfullofyarn March 9, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      I did indeed! And the pattern is on Ravelry; it’s called My Favorite Sweater and it’s by Fancy Tiger Crafts.

      • stitchcrazy March 9, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

        Thanks! Once again it’s very pretty.

Leave a Reply

