busybusybusy

25 Aug

It’s busy out, did you know?

A big part of that is my own fault. I recently dived head-first into the world of swapping in a really big way, and it turns out that takes up way, way more time that you’d think. There’s stalking the boards, deciding if you want/can fulfill, pouncing, offering, packing, mailing, receiving, stashing on Ravelry, and that’s if you already have everything made/on hand! If additional items need to be purchased, or knit from scratch, heaven help you. Here’s my current To Mail pile, though it’s short two packages that need to be added before I can head to the post office:

It might not look like much, but I swear it’s a lot of coordination/thinking/generally being on the ball. Plus, I mailed two more earlier this week. That is a lot of packages, friends. Butbutbut look what I’ve gotten in return!

That right there is an indie-dyed MCN fingering weight blend for more socks. It was waiting for me when I got home this afternoon, and oh my is it gorgeous. It’ll probably be a while before I can get it on the needles, but that’s just fine with me. Part of what I’m trying to accomplish with my swapping is to acquire a sock yarn stash, since socks are the best things ever EVER, and until very recently I had absolutely none. I have a bunch more coming in the mail, some to home and some to college, and I promise I will post pics just as soon as everything arrives!

This came yesterday, and was the very first thing I swapped for. I’ve wanted to try Frog Tree Alpaca for a long time, but it does things like Money, so I held off. But lo, now I have some, and in a lovely raspberry/maroon color! (brighter than this pic) It is just as soft and cuddly as I always imagined it would be and I am super excited to knit something I haven’t decided yet with it!

Heathered lavender 220 to make hopsalots with! My parents bought me the yarn, but the pattern was gifted to me in a swap, so it still totally counts. I am really, really excited for these, and will probably be starting them tonight, if I can get my act together. Since the slippers are felted, it is a high priority to get them done before college, since laundry at school is expensive, and you can’t just run the wash cycle ten bajillion times. I’m leaving on the 10th, so I (theoretically) have plenty of time, but only if I get my act together which will definitely happen soon. Theoretically.

I have also done some knitting, though some of it has been for swaps, and thusly won’t be posted about until packages have been received. But I can safely show you Rudy,  the Deformed Bunny:

You can’t tell how badly deformed he is from this picture, which is the entire point. He was supposed to be for a swap, but instead was adopted by my mom, who is a big fan of rejected stuffed animals. Not that he isn’t loved; don’t get me wrong, I adore him. He’s just not swap-ready.

Pattern: Knitted Bunny by Jackie Erickson-Schweitzer
Time Span: 23 to 24 August 2011
Materials: scraps of Malabrigo Worsted
Ravelry link: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/annanlove19/knitted-bunny

Also, I’ve cast on a new pair of socks with my Taiyo and they are coming along slowly but surely. They’re knit inside out so you can’t really see the pattern from this picture, but it’s there. Half a repeat left, then it’s heel o’clock! Not sure when I’ll get to it since I really need to knit my slippers first, but hopefully before school starts which is absolutely completely realistic I don’t know what you’re talking about. Outside In Socks pattern link!

But there have been non-yarny things happening too! Like back-to-school shopping:

And back-to-school hair salon-ing:

All in all, it’s been a good busy, but I feel a little bit like I’m running around with my head cut off. I’ve been needing to actively take time to sit down and breathe, which in and of itself is a little stressful, but it’s getting done. Other things on my to-do list include packing for back to school with needs to be done by Monday (and buying boxes to put my things into), spinning lessons on Monday, some more errand-ing, and also surviving the hurricane that’s supposed to hit this weekend. I’m outside the center of it, but hurricanes are big, man. It also might get in the way of some of my other to-dos, which is extra stressful. But! I will prevail.

Here’s a blooper reel picture from yarn photoshoot:

Susie thinks ALL of the pictures need to be of her.

Leave a Reply

