Yay!

22 Aug

Today, Ottis came.

He is a BeSpoke Long Monster made by the spectacular Michelene. He was purchased in the midst of my attack of stress, and I spent a long time talking to his creator determining the best monster for me. Between the two of us, we absolutely got it right–Ottis is the most perfectest monster I could ever have asked for. This is the description of BeSpoke Long Monsters:

“Just like all the BeSpoke Monsters, Long Monsters are gently beguiled out of the fantastic.
Each one fights other monsters, be they ‘under the bed’, ‘under the stairs’ or just ‘eat up all creativity’ monsters.
As loyal champions of those who adopt them, BeSpoke Monsters frighten them all away.
They will protect you from your biggest fears, magically inspire, encourage and comfort you.”

He and I are the best of friends, and he even accompanied me on a post office/lunch/yarn outing today. He did stay in my purse the whole time, because the neighborhood we went to was a little posh for walking around with a monster, but he didn’t mind. Purse or no purse, it was a bonding experience. And he did successfully protect me from any potential monsters I might have run into along the way!

Ottis likes to sit in my lap, like above, just to make extra certain no monsters can get near me. In fact, as I’m typing, his legs are sandwiched between my laptop and my legs, and his arms are draped over my hands. It makes it a little hard to type, but it is absolutely worth it. Plus, every now and then, he’ll look up at me with that expression, and it is the cutest thing ever.

This is Ottis’s description from his page on Etsy (and from his certificate that came with him but isn’t photographed because it’s currently being flattened beneath a ginormous book):

“Ottis is one of the most easygoing of all BeSpoke Monsters. Doesn’t seem to have a care in the world, but be careful…he gets irritable and growly if he hears certain commercials on the television – he is not a fan of jingles AT ALL. It would be best for everyone if you would turn the mute on for commercials if he’s around. Oh and try not to mention the off-white spot on his belly…he’s sensitive about it.
Ottis is about 1ft from head to foot and weights about 0.6 lbs. Ottis loves yams, anyway he can get them and a lot of them! You’ll probably have to buy those big potato sack bags full of yams, I’d say one a day at least. He will also eat bbq chips, cabbage and green apples. Ottis loves to play scrabble, but is wary of any words with the letters Y, Q, and W in them – so it can be frustrating.”

Ottis and my other Etsy monster, Charles (made by dkoss2), get along splendidly. They’re both so easy going and laid back and I wasn’t too worried about it, but I’m glad to see they’re becoming the best of friends.

Today I also got some lovely Noro Taiyo Sock from Mind’s Eye Yarns in Cambridge, which is one of my favorite yarn shops. I nearly got a bunch of different things, including a ridiculous yarn by Regia that I can neither remember what it’s called, nor find online, but it does crazy things and I think I’ll go back for it next week. It does crazy things. Like. Crazy. But the Taiyo I did get is gorgeous and while I don’t have a specific project in mind, I think it’ll be what I use next. I officially despise the yarn I bought from Iron Horse because it refuses to turn into socks and instead sits on my table looking beautiful and mocking me have had some trouble picking a pattern for the yarn I bought last week, so hopefully inspiration will hit for the Taiyo.

Not actually a LYS Roundup but still talking about a LYS in an important, LYS-type way:

I’d also just like to take a quick minute to talk about Wild and Wooly in Lexington. I’ve talked to a lot of knitters about it, and the general consensus is that they’re rude and snotty, and I’d like to say that I have never, ever had that problem, and I’ve been in about a hundred times. But. But they are so incredibly overpriced, it’s a little offensive. I’ve been thinking a lot about getting myself some Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock to try out, and I was super excited when I discovered they sell it, since it’s hard to come by in my area. But when I asked how much it cost, it was $20 a skein. Um. What? I know it’s hand-painted and so costs more than non hand-painted yarns, but I have never, ever seen anyone charge that much for it. A Good Yarn in Brookline has it for $12.50-ish a skein, as does Jimmy Beans, and you can generally get two skeins on Ravelry for about $18, though I’ve seen them as cheap as $16. So when I see people charging that much for it, it really gets to me.

Anyways. Enough grousing.

Er, wait. One more bout of grousing. This is what I have to do to my water in order to keep my kitten from drinking it:

Yes, that is a tissue box on top of my mug and yes, it is the only thing that works. Otherwise I get fur and paws that walk in kitty litter in my water, and those are things I do not want in my water. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

