Monster Ahoy!

27 Jul

I spent about a week and a half being terribly ill (i.e. pneumonia, conjunctivitis, passing out and falling down the stairs and getting a concussion and being rushed to the ER), and clearly the best way to reintegrate myself into knitting (and blogging!) life is by knitting a Rebecca Danger monster.

In the sink.

Baldwin the Bathroom Monster, in his natural habitat.

And lo, Baldwin the Bathroom Monster was born. He is made out of Lorna’s Laces Swirl DK, which I got in my very first Webs grab bag about two years ago (I’ve almost knit my way through the whole thing I swear). Since it’s DK, and monsters like to be knit on needles smaller than called for, he ended up being made on size 2s. I made this decision with no whining or scariness or anything, I just cast on. I was very proud.

Peeking out from behind the medicine cabinet.

"Hoo?"

Baldwin is a nervous around new people, but once he determines you’re a friend, he’ll follow you around, hopping and hooting until you play with him.

In the toiletries bin.

"Hoo hoo!!"

He has a beak instead of a traditional monster mouth, because when I was making his face last night at five in the morning hush I was inspired that is what he told me he wants.

In the shower caddy.

"Hooooo!"

He might follow you into the bathroom, but he promises to look away while you take care of business. And (despite above evidence) he will not join you in the shower, as he does not like water very much.

On the toilet paper, keeping an eye on my towel, and protecting the toilet paper from cats.

"Hoo."

He fancies himself guarder of the toilet paper, keeping it safe from the cats. We don’t have the heart to tell him that our cats couldn’t be less interested in it.

On the floor.

"....hoo."

He narrowly avoided a fall into the kitty litter, while trying to attain the following picture:

Posing for the camera :P

"Hoo hoo hooo!!!!"

And finally, Baldwin with his brothers and sisters:

Not pictured: Coco, who lives with my best friend Leah.

From top left: Lurleen, Kat, Harold, Charlena, Claude, Irving Q, Irving and Baldwin.

Pattern: Baldwin the Bathroom Monster by Rebecca Danger
Time Span: 26 to 27 July 2011
Materials: 108 yards of Lorna’s Laces Swirl DK
Ravelry link: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/annanlove19/baldwin-the-bathroom-monster

One Response to “Monster Ahoy!”

  1. Jill Merrill July 28, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Too adorable. I love him peeking out from the medicine cabinet. Glad the kitty litter was clean, even though he avoided it. It would have been embarrassing to post a bunch of cat, um, evacuations.

    The beak and the Hoo’s are the best.

Leave a Reply

