LYS Roundup: JP Knit & Stitch in Jamaica Plain, MA (4.5/5) and Snow Goose Yarns in Milton, MA (3.5/5)

14 Jul

I’ve decided to do a series of posts about LYSs in my area, to hopefully give people a helpful guide when looking for the perfect yarn shop. These are going to come in no order whatsoever, and will be in the new category “LYS Roundup” and tagged with “LYS Roundup”, so if you want the complete list (now only this post, but still), it’ll be easy to search for!

Also, please note my camera died on this trip, and all pictures were taken with my cell phone. Sorry for the grossness >.<

JP Knit & Stitch (4.5/5)
617.942.2118
461 Centre Street, Jamaica Plain, MA
http://jpknitandstitch.com/

JP Knit & Stitch is disguised as a CVS from certain angles, but when you see this:

How to tell you're in the right place!

Yarn bombing just outside the shop: always a good sign 😀

you know you’re in the right place. I absolutely adored this shop. It’s very new, I believe about seven months old, and it shows. Unlike a lot of overcrowded, dim, cluttered yarn shops, it goes out of its way to be well-organized, open and relaxing.

When you first walk in, there’s a seating area on the right by the open, bay windows where they host a free knitting group every Thursday evening. I sat there with the (owner? employee? I was remiss in asking) when I realised my camera was broken, and she was very friendly and helpful and tried to fix it (unfortunately, it is no longer of this world, and a new camera was purchased in its place). The chairs were comfy, the windows bright and open, and knitting books tastefully placed around in a very non-overwhelming way.

Bright! Airy! Sunshine!

It was brighter than this, the light from outside was being difficult with a cell phone camera.

Most of the yarn was along the right wall, organised and labelled better than any other yarn shop I’ve been in, ever. It begins with a “Green” section, then moves back through the weights. Every area is well labelled, every yarn cubby is labelled, and there are no stray bags, or even skeins, of yarn out of place. This makes it a real joy to browse; again, it was the very antithesis of overcrowded. Because of this, the selection wasn’t as varied as some other places, but I found I would happily trade having EVERY SINGLE YARN EVER OMG ALL IN MY FACE ALL AT ONCE for this type of environment. And that is not to say they don’t have a variety; I failed miserably at doing something useful like writing down what they had, but what stuck in my mind was the Blue Sky Alpacas Organic Cotton (a personal favorite), a lovely selection of Manos del Uruguay, some Rowan, Debbie Bliss and Cascade, though I can tell you for sure they had an awful lot more than that. The prices were average and I forgot to ask about a sale section, and they did also have a baby section off to the left, offering machine-washable, easy-to-care-for options, including Berroco Comfort, but also a bunch of others.

yarnyarnyarnyarnyarnyarnWELLORGANIZEDYARNyarnyarnyarn :D

Again, this is a pretty crappy picture, but you can see that there's yarn all along the wall, and then individual areas for each weight.

As the name implies, they’re also a sewing shop, although more limited (I think?) than the knitting section. I only dabble in sewing, so I’ll let the picture do the talking:

nomnom tasty fabric

I can say with some authority that the patterns of fabric they have are absolutely adorable!

Overall, I adore this yarn shop, and I wish I lived closer to it. The only reason I took half a star off was because the selection wasn’t outstanding, but like I said, I think it’s definitely worth it. I plan on heading over to the knitting night as soon as I have a free Thursday, and popping in as often as I can.

Snow Goose Yarns (3.5/5)
617.698.1190
The Milton Market Place, 10 Bassett Street, Milton, MA
http://www.snowgooseyarn.com/contact-snow-goose-yarns-milton-ma.htm

After JP Knit & Stitch, I headed over to Milton to check out Snow Goose Yarns. They’re nestled in a (very cute!) shopping plaza on the second floor, so you won’t just see it driving by, but it’s worth tracking down.

It's a yarn shop!

The front door, and also behind those bags, the sale section.

Perhaps this is because I just came from the hyper-organised, super-open JP Knit & Stitch, but Snow Goose Yarns felt crowded, dim and like there was just too much product out on the floor. Literally. By almost every wall, there were bags of overstock on the floor. There was also a back room, so I’m not sure why they didn’t keep the extra there, but for whatever reason, they did not. This felt very overwhelming to me, and also just plain old cluttered.

But! I have lots of good things to say too. The ladies there were friendly and enthusiastic, both about knitting and about the shop. The selection was good, and while it had a bigger novelty selection that I usually see, they also had a fair amount of fancier yarns, including some brands I hadn’t heard of, which is always a plus for me, since I love trying new things. Again, it didn’t occur to me until I got home to get a more comprehensive list of their stock, but I know they had Noro, Debbie Bliss, Louet, Berroco, and many more. The sale section was 50% off and bigger than some, but didn’t have a huge variety also known as I didn’t see anything I really loved and so was off-put but I might just be being too picky for a sale section.

Deceptive photos are deceptive.

This picture makes it seem much less cluttered than I had thought, so I might have been some overreacting, but I promise that right behind me was an awful lot of yarn, and around that corner towards the back was crowded enough that I don't think you could pass someone if need be.

All in all, Snow Goose is a good resource and absolutely worth investigating, if a little overwhelming at times. I would absolutely go back.

3 Responses to “LYS Roundup: JP Knit & Stitch in Jamaica Plain, MA (4.5/5) and Snow Goose Yarns in Milton, MA (3.5/5)”

  1. Jill Merrill July 17, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    Gee, your cell phone actually takes pretty decent pictures! Between the photos and your descriptions, I really got a feel for each place. Can’t wait to see more of these. It should be relatively easy to do Mind’s Eye and Wild and Wooly, since they’re so close.

    Did you happen to notice in the novelty section of the Milton shop if they had any potential dreadsopi yarn? Not that anyone but me would care, but I’d love to find another brand of yarn. I love the Feza Platino, but diversity is good.

    Speaking of which, maybe this doesn’t matter to anyone else, but I’d love to see/read about a brief description of buttons at each shop. Not such a necessity for knitters, I know, but there *are* cardigans and such.

    Anyhow great idea and great beginning.

  2. genevieve July 20, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Thanks for coming in! That was me (Genevieve) who helped you (well, fiddled with your camera as I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with it either). Thanks for your kind words about our shop and we hope you come back again soon. We are very honored with our 4.5/5 stars! Merci…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Little Bit of Everything (including LYS Roundup, an FO, a WIP and also some silliness) « Hands Full of Yarn - July 15, 2011

    […] Comments « LYS Roundup: JP Knit & Stitch in Jamaica Plain, MA (4.5/5) and Snow Goose Yarns in Milton, MA&nb… […]

Leave a Reply

