It’s an addiction to torsos and feet…*

13 Jul

So knitting, it happens!

Well, pretty sure.

I know she looks kind of like a pile of flop right now, but I swear she's a sweater.

This is Devon. I cast on two days ago, and am almost done a sizeable chunk of the way through with the first frontback (a term coined by my sister to describe when a pattern’s front and backs are the same). Since I’m using the Berroco Ultra Alpaca, I went up two needle sizes and am knitting a small. It’s a little hard to tell if I should be doing the small or extra-small, since it’s such a baggy sweater, but I think I made the right call.

I’m really loving the sweater, and the colors I picked. something about it says southern France to me, like I should be wearing it while lounging on a beach, eating a baguette, drinking a bottle of champagne, and generally being cooler than everyone else.

aiufhiweuhfiewufh WHY WON'T YOU BE THE RIGHT COLOR D:

Artsy photo of socks is artsy and also obnoxious.

I also cast on my first pair of socks ever omg. I am very, very excited about them. They got put on hold when one of the needles I was using was eaten by gremlins  disappeared from where I had put it down in the space of the 30 seconds it took me to go to the bathroom, but new needles were purchased, and I have since knit a whole row. Progress might be slow because I’m realizing this is not a good knitting-at-Boy’s project, because his apartment is often dim, and I can’t see the stitches well enough. But, I am super excited to have them done, and even have extra incentive to finish.

Before I tell you that extra incentive, though, I need to state that the color of the yarn in the photograph is nothing at all like the actual yarn. It’s a mix of purples and grey, yes, but there is a lot more purple, and it’s very bright and beautiful and variegated. Hopefully one day I’ll get it in the right light, even if that day isn’t until I finish the socks.

Anyways! Incentive.

It appears to be waving?

Candy magic 😀

This is a skein of Lang Yarns Jawoll Magic that I picked up, along with a copy of Thrown Together, at Ewe’ll Love It! in Nashua, NH. I found out yesterday that they’re going out of business, and I have to say I am devastated. They were a truly incredible yarn shop, and greater Boston knitters won’t be the same without them. They were having a 40% off sale, so I got quite a good deal, and I plan to head back up on Monday, but it’s still heartbreaking. The 31st is their last day, and I fully encourage you to go say goodbye, and maybe pick up a good deal or two.

But anyways. The yarn is gorgeous, and I’ve been coveting it for quite some time. It doesn’t have the best reviews ever on Ravelry, but the colors are just so gorgeous I couldn’t help myself. I haven’t decided on a pattern yet, but I do know for suresies that I won’t be casting on with it until I finish my first pair of socks, hence the incentive. I am contemplating Jaywalkers, but we’ll have to see.

Rainbows of sunshine magical unicorns candy!

Also not the right color exactly; it's a lot brighter than this.

So remember, Friends, never take your LYS for granted because you never know when it’s going to close </3

*This is a bastardization of a line from a Regina Spektor song that’s been stuck in my head for ages. The original reads “It’s an addiction to hands and feet”.

Leave a Reply

